Want to connect with friends, follow what they’re up to on Shotgun, or control who you follow and what you hear about?
Here’s how to follow and unfollow people, manage your followers and choose which notifications you receive.
This article is about following, unfollowing, and managing notifications for other Shotgun users or friends.
If you want to follow, unfollow, or manage notifications for an organizer or artist, see 📲 I want to follow, unfollow, or manage notifications for an organizer.
Social features are currently available only on the Shotgun app.
👉 How can I find people to follow?
You can discover friends directly from your profile
- Go to your profile and tap the icon next to the Edit button.
- From there, you can find people in different ways:
- 🔎 Search for someone by name.
- ✨ Invite friends to join Shotgun.
- 📱 Find friends from your contacts.
You'll also find your follow requests on this page. You can access them from your notifications too.
👉 How do I follow someone?
- Open the person's profile and tap Follow.
- If their account is public, you can start following them immediately.
- If their account is private, your request will show as Pending until they accept it.
- If they accept your request, you'll receive a notification and you'll start following them.
👉 Can I follow someone without receiving notifications?
Yes! You can follow someone while choosing whether or not to receive notifications about their activity.
This gives you more control over your Shotgun feed: you can stay connected to someone without necessarily receiving a notification every time they have relevant activity.
To manage notifications for someone you already follow:
- Go to their profile.
- Tap the bell icon next to the Following button.
- Turn their notifications on or off.
Notifications can include event attendance, when applicable. You won't receive a notification for an event you're already attending.
👉 How do I unfollow someone?
If you no longer want to follow someone, go to their profile and tap Following.
You'll then stop following them and won't receive their follower-related updates.
👉 Can I remove someone who follows me?
Yes! You can remove a follower without blocking them.
- Go to the person's profile.
- Tap the three dots in the top-right corner.
- Select Remove from followers.
Don't worry: they won't be notified when you remove them!